Project Sonic 2017 Officially Titled “Sonic Forces”

c7ez8a7u8aa4zxz
Concept art for Sonic Forces. Courtesy: SEGA/Sonic Team

Four years feels like forever and a day for a new good Sonic game to be released, let alone announced. After Sonic Lost World, I steered clear of the Sonic Boom trilogy upon criticism for having ten times more glitches than Sonic ’06, especially Rise of Lyric, where Sonic and the gang shout out “RINGS! RINGS!” every time they pick up their golden Power Rings, Knuckles jumps higher and higher only to come back down and see his friends frozen in render model form, and the writing sent novelists like Stephen King, Meg Cabot, and Cory Doctorow running to the bathroom to barf. I mean, “An ambush with ice cream?” That’s the stupidest thing Tails ever said. And don’t get me started on Shadow’s drunken attitude.

Like some Sonic fans, I developed a neutral outlook on the future of the franchise–while I love Sonic with all my heart and soul, I was scared that the quality of his games was going to run further downhill. My mind was going through that balancing act until the 25th anniversary party at San Diego Comic Con, where SEGA released the trailer for Project Sonic 2017. I never thought I would see Sonic in his true modern form ever again because of the sports tape-laden Sonic of the aforementioned Boom series, but when Classic Sonic burst onto the scene, I thought, “Oh Lord, this game’s a sequel to Sonic Generations.” Takashi Iizuka, executive producer of Sonic Team succeeding creator Yuji Naka, made it very clear soon after the event that Project Sonic 2017 was not going to be titled Sonic Generations 2, which was a relief.

A couple weeks ago, SEGA announced at SXSW that the title of Project Sonic 2017 has been changed to–if it sounds corny, I apologize–Sonic Forces.

c7ewwuavwaa1dvg-720x501
The official logo for Sonic Forces. Courtesy: IGN

The next morning, I was lucky to catch a sneak peek of the gameplay for the game, and all I can say is, the graphics look delicious!

 

According to Iizuka, Sonic Forces will run on Hedgehog Engine 2, a refined version of the game engine used in Sonic Unleashed and Sonic Generations. They updated the engine just in time, because Sonic sped through the apocalyptic cobblestone town as fluidly as a river.

I know that Sonic Forces won’t be released until sometime around Thanksgiving, but I’m optimistic that the game will turn out to be fantastic, especially since Sonic has gone multi-platform for the first time since Sonic UnleashedForces will be available for the PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and the Nintendo Switch. Great things take time, and Sonic Forces is definitely worth the four-year wait. I just hope I get the PlayStation 4 by then.

 

Leave a Reply

