Sausage Party Trailer Reaction

Once upon time, I objected every single adult-animated show that everyone my age and over went a little crazy about. As I grew older, I’ve learned to accept Family Guy, The Simpsons, and even Futurama (now cancelled but available on Netflix) for gracing the small screens to offer their satirical views about the world as we know it. And it’s not just the satire I’ve come to embrace, it’s their animation styles as well. Sure, the producers of those shows throw in some sexual references every now and then, but they proved to be of good taste.

Then there’s this trailer of an adult-animated film that appears to be of poor taste in artery-clogging proportions.

 

The only screenshot I could find that best describes how appalled I am by the Sausage Party trailer is this:

Spongebob_Patrick_Jaw_Drop
An overrated SpongeBob meme, I know.

Granted, the potato dropping F-bombs while his skin was being sliced off took me by surprise. But the design that shocked me the most was the hot dog bun named Brenda. Her mouth bears a striking resemblance to the flap of…well, some of you may have taken anatomy classes, so you should know what female part Brenda’s mouth resembles without me having to tell you. (Brenda is voiced by Kristen Wiig, but Miley Cyrus should’ve been cast for the role.)

I initially thought that, because Sausage Party is an animated film, it’s gonna be for both kids and adults. But the whole two minutes of all the anthropomorphic food shouting obscenities every five seconds tells me that it’s 100% intended for the latter group, courtesy of Seth Rogen, who produced and voices the main sausage character Frank (obviously derived from the hot dog’s original name “frankfurter”) in the movie.

My stance on this upcoming animated film is…neutral. Sausage Party looks like it was created out of poor taste, but it does have some potential to be the best R-rated animated comedy of the year. It doesn’t come out until August 11, so even though the MPAA hasn’t given the movie the R-rated stamp, Rogen is aiming for that goal.

The last thing I can say is, Sausage Party might make some of us go totally vegetarian or vegan after the end credits. After all, it is a spoof of the Disney-Pixar film Toy Story. Rogen, you’ve taken adult animation to the next level for the first time in years. My mind is already blown away.

Leave a Reply

