It’s Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, and while I should’ve been doing something to celebrate his accomplishments on peacefully integrating marginalized groups into society, I’m sitting at home with the sudden realization that… Holy shit, my 22nd birthday is precisely two weeks from today!

My 21-year-old life hasn’t been all that’s cracked up to be due to all the bullshit that crossed my path in the past year (See: Different Strokes). I still can’t fully drive yet, so I feel like I got my learner’s permit for nothing; I’ve been single for over a year and a half; my social has been crappy (except for hanging out with my brother and his girlfriend and my family, but such is an Aspie’s life); and I’m about 20 to 40 percent done with my first novel.

I want 2016 to be MY year, I really do. But I really need God’s help to make my 22nd year of life (and beyond) as bearable as possible. Here are some of the things I wish to happen after I turn 22. I want…

A.) To practice my driving more often so that I can take the driver’s exam and obtain a LEGIT driver’s license.

B.) A boyfriend who can accept me as I am and support me through all my trials and tribulations.

C.) To spend more time with friends I haven’t seen for ages.

D.) To finish my first novel and have it published, and further hone my writing skills along the course of my career (which hasn’t begun yet, but still).

I really just want to get the hell out of my comfort zone and experience as much of life as I possibly can. It sucks having to stay home all the time.

 

One thought on “Wishes for My 22nd Birthday

Leave a Reply

