Upgrading to the Wii U

Ah, the holiday season–Thanksgiving dinner plans are being made, retailers are staying open for an hour longer starting on Black Friday if not sooner, final exams are coming up (I have three essays to write for my online Ethics class before the final, unfortunately), and people are beginning to think about what to spend their money on for Christmas.

I know Christmas should be focused on the birth of Jesus over material things, but after giving it some careful thought, I decided it’s high time that I upgraded to…the Wii U.

Courtesy: Nintendo

Apparently, my original Wii has been acting up since late July, if not earlier. “Cristina, how is your Wii acting up, and why didn’t you address this problem?” you may ask.

It all started when I was playing Sonic and SEGA All-Stars Racing just to help myself get a hang of my driving experience in the real world. I played on the Seaside Hill racetrack, and right in the middle of the race my Wii takes me back to the title screen not once, but five times.

When I played The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword later, the same thing happened thrice, and I had trouble controlling Link thrice.

I played Sonic Colors, and I had a hard time controlling my favorite blue hedgehog as I was jumping on the construction platforms on Planet Wisp.

Playing Super Mario Bros. Wii the night before the semester began, I had a lot of trouble getting through a level in World 2, and how many times did the Wii take me back to the title screen? EIGHT. FRICKIN’. TIMES!

I haven’t touched my Wii ever since.

I addressed this problem not to my family, but to some of my gamer aquaintances at school. They told me the main reason why my Wii is having these technical difficulties is because of the constant updates the console undergoes each time a new game disc is inserted and the data from the new game is added to the SD card–of course, the last new game I got for the Wii was Just Dance 2015–thus rendering the console itself less efficient than it was in the past.

“Nintendo is basically making the Wii entirely useless to make you upgrade to the Wii U,” said one acquaintance who shall not be named for privacy’s sake.

I thought my Wii was having problems because my mom knocked it off the TV shelf by accident while she was installing her new Comcast Xfinity DVR.

The best thing about the Wii U is I can either play games with the traditional Wii Remote and the Wii Controller, the Game Pad or even both. Plus, I can use Amiibo figurines for Super Smash. Bros or other games on which they’re compatible, depending on the model line they belong to.

Courtesy: GameStop

And the best part about the Wii U? It possesses backwards compatibility for all the Wii games, so I might be able to transfer all the game data from the Wii to the new console.

I think switching to the Wii U will be the best decision I’ll ever make as a gamer. I was contemplating on upgrading to the PlayStation 4 as well, but that’s another story.

Leave a Reply

